People

 Faculty:

 

Prof. Jian Sheng

Email: jian.sheng@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8458 (office)
Tel: 806-834-8714 (lab)

image385

Director, Principle Investigator
211 Mechanical Engineering
Texas Tech University

Education:
2007 – The Johns Hopkins University

Research:
Biological and biomedical flow, Microfabrication, MEMS, Interfacial dynamics, Turbulence, Experimental fluid mechanics, Wind energy, Oil spill, Advanced measurement techniques

Postdoctoral Fellow(s)/Staff(s):

Dr. Maryam Jalali

Email: maryam.jalali@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

image386

Postdoc Fellow
133G ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2012 – University of Minnesota, Twin City

Research:
Particle transport near micro-engineered oil-water interface; biofilm formation over micro-fabricated super-hydrophobic surface; MEMS sensor and actuators

Dr. Faraz Mehdi

Email: faraz.mehdi@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

image517

Postdoc Fellow
133G ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2012 – University of New Hampshire

Research:
Simultaneous measurement of 3D structure deformation and 3D flows using Holographic and Tomographic PIV; Wake of wind turbine; vascular flow

Graduate Student(s):

Mehdi Molaei

Email: mehdi.molaei@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

image491

PhD Candidate
133G ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2012 – University of Minnesota, Twin City (MS)
2010 – Sharif University, Iran (MS)
2008 – Sharif University, Iran (BS)

Research:
Hydrodynamics of micro-organism near a boundary and interface; surface functionalization using micro-scale textures

Akash Jain

Email: akash.jain@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

Akash

PhD Student
133G ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2013 –

Research:
Field PIV measurement of a wind turbine in a wind farm

Seongho Kim

Email: seongho.kim@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

Seongho

PhD Student
133G ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2013 –

Research:
Interactions of planktonic particles with oil droplets under various flow conditions using microfluidics and mesocosm tank

Larry Brock

Email: larry.brock@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

image794

Master Student, Lab Manager
133G ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2013 –

Research:
Development of daytime operable field PIV system

Undergraduate Researcher(s):

Avesta Hojjati

Email: avesta.hojjati@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

Avesta

Computer Manager
133G ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2014 – Texas Tech University (MS)

Research:
Experimental investigation using massive parallel computing for big data analysis

James Lassmann

Email: james.lassmann@ttu.edu
Tel: 806-834-8714

image386

UG researcher
133JA ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2016 – Texas Tech University

Research:
Submersible Holographic camera for surveying oceanic particulates

Daniel Kilbet

Email:
Tel: 806-834-8714

image386

UG researcher
133JA ME Building
Texas Tech University

Education:
2014 – Mississippi Valley State University

Research:
Biofilm formation over an oily substrate

Former Member(s):

Dr. Anwar Chengala PhD. University of Minnesota, 2013
Dr. Ricky Chow PhD. University of Minnesota, 2013